Employer of Record, eor-philippines-guide

New DOLE AEP Rules in the Philippines (Department Order No. 248-C)

5 min read

This is for Philippine employers, HR teams, foreign professionals and service providers sorting out DOLE's announced AEP changes. Answer three quick questions for tailored next steps, then see what moved and what stays the same.

Key Takeaways

  • DOLE announced fewer filing attachments, no applicant-funded newspaper ad and a 10-working-day target.
  • The AEP, the Labor Market Test and sector-specific permits are not abolished. Simpler filing is not lighter compliance.
  • The order takes effect 15 days after newspaper publication. DOLE had not disclosed that date at announcement, so the earlier requirements apply until it runs.
HR officer at an office desk reviewing work permit paperwork on a laptop.

Labor Secretary Francis Tolentino signed Department Order No. 248-C, Series of 2026 on October 27, and DOLE announced it on October 28. It takes effect 15 days after publication in a newspaper of general circulation.

Find your path

What Does the AEP Change Mean for You?

Three quick questions. Your answers stay on this page.

1. Who are you?
2. What are you preparing?
3. Does the role need a sector-specific permit or professional authorization?

Educational only. This quiz does not determine legal eligibility or replace official advice from DOLE, the Bureau of Immigration or a qualified adviser.

Foreign professional and Filipino colleague reviewing documents together in an office.

Whatever your result, the announcement trims paperwork at filing, not the rules behind it.

What changed, side by side

Previous processNew measure announcedWhat it means in practice
Supporting permitsSector documents were filing attachments.PCAB License, PRC Special Temporary Permit, DOJ Authority to Employ Alien and DENR Authority to Hire Foreign National are no longer required as attachments.Fewer attachments. Compliance with those agencies' laws remains mandatory.
Labor Market Test noticeNewspaper publication, paid for by the applicant.Broadsheet publication is discontinued. Notices go through the DOLE Official Portal or Public Repository, or the UP Law Center.No newspaper ad cost, but the Labor Market Test itself remains.
Processing time15 working days.10-working-day target, one 10-day extension, 20 days maximum.A target, not a promise. Plan for up to 20 days.
Who can fileNot described in the announcement.Employers may use their own HR officers or personnel.Smaller teams may file in-house. Complex or regulated cases may still need specialist advice.
Application feesPayment was part of submission, which the new rule implies.No fees at submission. Payment slips follow approval after technical evaluation.Payment moves later. Fees still apply, so it is not free.
Applications from abroadNot compared in the announcement.Embassies and consulates may endorse applications to the BLE or DFA through official notes.A new endorsement channel. It does not replace visa or immigration steps.
Orientation and medical careNot compared in the announcement.Foreign applicants may be required to take a history and culture orientation. Lawfully employed foreign workers receive medical care in government hospitals."May be required" leaves scope open. Check the order before telling hires what to expect.

Swipe sideways on small screens.

Who is most affected

DOLE has not published impact figures, so treat these as areas to watch, not forecasts.

  • HR teams and employers: fewer attachments and revised workflows.
  • Regulated sectors: less duplication at filing, but no exemption from sector rules.
  • Foreign professionals: potentially simpler applications, while qualifications and immigration status still matter.
  • Small and mid-sized employers: more room to file in-house, if they know the process.
  • Consultants and filing agents: routine admin may shift, while complex cases may still need specialists.
HR team around a meeting table going through a printed checklist.

What has not changed

Simpler filing is not lighter compliance. The announcement does not:
  • Abolish the AEP requirement for those who need one.
  • Remove the Labor Market Test or other eligibility rules.
  • Waive sector-specific permits, licenses or professional authorizations.
  • Replace immigration or visa requirements.
  • Guarantee approval or a processing outcome.

Confirm each point against the full order once available.

Manager and HR lead talking through paperwork in a co-working space.

What employers should do next

1Track the effective date

It starts 15 days after newspaper publication. Until then, the earlier requirements apply.

2Get the latest checklist

Use DOLE's current AEP checklist and filing instructions.

3Map separate approvals

List any permits, licenses or authorizations the hire needs.

4Review notice steps

Confirm where Labor Market Test notices are now published.

5Update your workflow

Revise timelines and payment steps for the new fee sequence.

6Confirm the channel

AEPs have gone to the DOLE Central Office through the BLE since June 9, 2026.

7Keep records

File everything, and seek advice on unusual or regulated cases.

Want to talk through your own foreign-hire setup?

Book a consultation

FAQ

What changed under DOLE Department Order No. 248-C?

DOLE announced fewer filing attachments, no applicant-funded broadsheet publication, a 10-working-day target, in-house filing by employer HR, no fees at submission and embassy endorsement of applications. It takes effect 15 days after newspaper publication. DOLE had not disclosed that date at announcement, so the earlier requirements apply until it runs.

Are foreign workers still required to obtain an AEP?

Yes, where one is required. The announcement simplifies the application process and does not say the requirement was removed. Confirm your situation with DOLE's official guidance or a qualified adviser.

Does removing a document from the AEP checklist remove the need for that permit or authorization?

No. DOLE said compliance with those agencies' laws remains mandatory. The document is no longer an AEP filing attachment, but the underlying permit may still be required.

Planning to employ or work in the Philippines?

Zero-Ten Park is a Cebu co-working space and Employer of Record provider. Tell us about your setup, whether that is workspace, Philippine employment arrangements or both, and we will help you work out which questions need specialist review, such as AEP or immigration. No pressure.

Sources

All reviewed October 30, 2026. Provisions follow DOLE's announcement of Department Order No. 248-C as reported by the sources below. DOLE's website blocked our automated access, so we cross-checked its announcement against these reports. Check the order's text and publication notice once DOLE posts them.

General educational information only. Not legal, immigration, tax or financial advice. Confirm current rules with DOLE and the relevant agencies.